Give Thanks for Metamorphosis…

17 May

Metamorphosis


Always it happens when we are not there–
The tree leaps up alive into the air,
Small open parasols of Chinese green
Wave on each twig. But who has ever seen
The latch sprung, the bud as it burst?
Spring always manages to get there first.

Lovers of wind, who will have been aware
Of a faint stirring in the empty air,
Look up one day through a dissolving screen
To find no star, but this multiplied green,
Shadow on shadow, singing sweet and clear.
Listen, lovers of wind, the leaves are here!

-May Sarton

My darlin’ friend David sends me a poem daily.  Metamorphosis is today’s poem.  Coincidentally, it arrived just as I was thinking about all of the things I’ll miss in my garden while I’m on a two week vacation.  The iris, allium and phlox will all have bloomed purple, pink and white without me.  Since I’ll be floating down the Colorado River, in the base of the Grand Canyon, I don’t give a hoot!  Still, when I return, the trees will be so full that I might not recognize the street I’m driving on.  Amazing ol’ cottonwoods will be crowding the mountain views and the resident owlets will have fledged.  My own maples, lilacs, and crabapple will be shielding us from street activity and cooling the house front.     Metamorphosis can be so fast and illusive. Thinking of my own children’s rapid change into adulthood drives me to kleenex and chocolate.  How about you?

Our wild baby bunnies will be large enough to eat, err… trap and relocate to open space and most of their 6 week childhood will have been lived.


I am a “lover of the wind” but… after the Mother’s Day trip to Dayton, I returned to find that these crabapple blooms had been blown away and the merlot colored leaves were already taking their place – reminding me of Mom’s passing and the birth of new life.

“Always it happens when we are not there–”

Be Present and catch as much metamorphic activity as possible.  What changes will you see in nature this spring?  What changes will you personally experience?  Whether it’s a big birthday, the growth of new hair or the discovery of contentment, I wish you a gentle metamorphosis.

Until June, sending many Hugs,

Sonja

photos by SAK

6 Responses to “Give Thanks for Metamorphosis…”

  1. susan May 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    “Just as the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly.”

    -Proverb

    • Project Give Thanks May 18, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Thanks Susan and David for giving me wonderful thoughts to work with.
      Hugs, Sonja

  2. David R May 17, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Glad you liked the poem!

  3. Michelle Zindorf May 18, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Wonderful thoughts and beautiful flowers. Love ya!

  4. nancy shade May 27, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Beautiful words…beautiful lady….love you sunshine!

    • Project Give Thanks June 11, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Hi Nancy,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a sweet message. You’re only encouraging me and the world doesn’t need another blogger. 😉

Leave a Reply

