Give Thanks for a loving message.

8 Aug
Secret Scrolls Newsletter Logo
The fastest way to receive is to give, because giving starts the reciprocal action of receiving. We all receive according to how much we give. Give the best of you everywhere you go. Give a smile. Give thanks. Give kindness. Give love.

Your giving should be a giving without expectation of return – a giving for the sheer joy of it.
May the joy be with you,

Rhonda Byrne

Give Thanks for loving messages.
Hey All, this message was emailed to me by my friend Paula and it certainly fits our theme so I’m sharing it with you.  But, I’m also going to be a bit of a stinker and balance all that goodness with a quote I occasionally mutter to myself… “No good deed goes unpunished.”  Nobody knows who wrote that but this is how wikipedia explains it “The phrase No good deed goes unpunished is a sardonic commentary on the frequency with which kindnesses backfire on those who offer them.”
I think of that phrase when I consider giving money to a beggar.  If I do what my heart wants, to share my good fortune, I have to live with the fact that I probably just bought an alcoholic more of what ails him/her.  If we lovingly help our crying regretful child write a past deadline paper we’ve also helped to reinforce  lifelong habits of procrastination and expecting a bailout.  A group of faithful supporters can work their hearts out to get their hero elected and still be disappointed by the results.
No matter how generous, loving and supportive we are, once that energy is released we can not guide it.  Our intentions fly on the wings of others. But, we will always have the elevated goodness from which it came.  Also, as Rhonda says, our gifts begin a chain reaction of giving and receiving; we just may not know how that is playing out.   So let’s not be discouraged when our good deed backfires or fly astray.  Let’s have faith that our giving energy will prevail somewhere, somehow, wether we see it or not.
An that is my loving message for you.  Sonja
 Paula and I in 2009.  In this photo both of us had Cancer, Paula melanoma and me breast cancer.  Now we are both Survivors and cancer free!!!
PS  This program is not, not, not following my instructions so everything is scrunched up, sorry.

Leave a Reply

