Give Thanks for Hares.

20 Aug

This is gorgeous Lesley and her new hair.  Yeah!  Woo-pee!  Bravo!  But, I’m talkin’ Hare here.

So, my 2.5 year old grandson, Bodhi and I were shopping.  I was holding a 4 pack of Venus razor blades throwing a fit because they were almost 20 bucks! “Bodhi” I said, ” I’m just gonna’ hav-ta let my legs get hairy!  He said “you’d be a wrabbit, you know, a hare!”   I laughed so hard I thought “pee cleanup in isle 9!”

Hares are my totem, my spirit animal.  I appreciate their philosophies: defending ourselves doesn’t always involve fighting back; listen carefully to what is going on in our environment; accurately use intuition when in danger.  At the moment, we (humans) are fighting instead of being clever and staying out of other’s business; we are not listening to our environment and we are certainly not intuiting environmental dangers.  Hare for President!

This is a hare or jackrabbit (genus Lepus).  “Rabbits” belongs to an entirely different family.  Poor rabbit, that’s what my family says about me !

 

Hares also do not belong to the jack-a-lope family which only lives in the mind of small children and my sister Michelle.  lol!

Hares live in simple, small indentations in a bush, stay out most of the night hunting, they protect their children (called leverets) by hiding them in separate palces when unattended.  The hares are born with their eyes open and hair – thus “Hare.” It’s the opposite for rabbits who live in burrows, or between my walls, are born naked, blind, too cute and destine to carry a basket .

In spring when hares can be seen in broad daylight chasing one another around meadows; they appear to be males competing for dominance and the chicks, harry chicks who won’t pay ransom for a razor.  During this spring frenzy, hares can be seen “boxing” probably the origin of the term “Mad as a March Hare.”  I resemble that remark!

Closer observation has revealed that it is usually a female hitting a male to prevent copulation.  Atta girl!  You told him you had a headache! 

Give Thanks for Hares, Why?  Here’s what Walt Whitman says…

I Think I Could Turn and Live with Animals

“I think I could turn and live with animals, they are so placid and self-contained;
I stand and look at them long and long.
They do not sweat and whine about their condition;
They do not lie awake in the dark and weep for their sins;
They do not make me sick discussing their duty to God;
Not one is dissatisfied—not one is demented with the mania of owning things;
Not one kneels to another, nor to his kind that lived thousands of years ago;
Not one is respectable or industrious over the whole earth.
So they show their relations to me and I accept them,
They bring me tokens of myself, they evince them plainly in their possessions.”
Harry Hugs to YOu,
Sonja

2 Responses to “Give Thanks for Hares.”

  1. Jeannie Kinney August 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    I love the poem. It seems such a simple life to the one we live as humans. Food for thought~Thank you, Jeannie

    • Project Give Thanks August 22, 2011 at 6:11 am #

      Hi Jeannie,

      Yes, indeed, food for thought. Hope the week to come brings you a feast of good thoughts.

      Hugs, Sonja

      P S Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

