Give Thanks for a safe arrival.

26 Aug

Give Thanks for a safe arrival.

This is my baby, Sarah.  Yesterday she left me and her baby, Bodhi, to take a flight to North Carolina.  Thankfully, she arrived safely and is spending today interviewing for a nursing job.  She’s 3 hours away from the coast so we expect her to get wet but not to be in danger’s way.

Isn’t it wonderful when you know your loved one has landed safe and sound?  Well, here are three “packages of love” which have landed (mostly) safe and sound.

The top brown package came all of the way from Zuid Holland, sent by Corina Stewart.   Boy, did that box take a beating but not one card was damaged!  Now that’s a lucky safe arrival!

Valory Johnson sent her second package from Zeeland, MI.

Lori Ikehara-Lyman is also a second-timer and she sends her packages from Honolulu, HI!

Wow!  My mind always thinks, “WOW!”  Then I get ready for the opening of the packages… tea, chocolate, quiet, and light.  I have developed a real ritual for opening the packages that Project Give Thanks receives.  After all, every one of these cards is a part of the creator; her personality, style, passions and favored sentiments.   These are sacred gifts and they are treated that way by me and by the Cancer patients who receive them.  I’ve watched how gingerly patients hold the cards and how much awe and laughter that’s shared over the creativity and generosity.  All of YOU, who create cards for Boulder County’s Cancer fighters, are the ones driving Project Give Thanks.  YOU are making a difference.  Thank You!

Here are just a few of the beautiful cards received today…

Sorry, my photography doesn’t do these works of art justice!

I have to wrap up here and go get my Sunshine from daycare.  We hope to spend the evening at a festival but my “weather predicting dog” says it’s going to rain.  Of course we’ll also be watching the storm on the East coast while hoping that all of you and our precious Sarah stay safe and dry.

Safety shield hugs comin’ your way,

Sonja

3 Responses to “Give Thanks for a safe arrival.”

  1. Erica Feilds August 27, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Lovely photo of your precious daughter. Prayerfully hoping that she aces the interview. Keeing all the East Coasters in prayer for weathering the hurricane.
    Got to read a few of your posts….enjoying your writing and will return when I have a bit more time. I have cards to give.

    • Project Give Thanks August 28, 2011 at 5:20 am #

      Erica,
      Thanks for visiting and offering such nice comments. i look forward to some future visits too.

      All cards are welcome, Thanks!!!

      Hugs, Sonja

  2. lori I.L. August 28, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Aloha Sonja,
    Good luck to your daughter on her potential job prospect! Thanks for all your kind words – and posting that my package made it safely to you. It makes me happy to send you my cards. It’s wonderful to hear that someone else out there can enjoy the fruits of my “addiction”!

Leave a Reply

