Give Thanks for patience.

13 Mar

Patience of Ordinary Things

by Pat Schneider

It is a kind of love, is it not?
How the cup holds the tea,
How the chair stands sturdy and foursquare,
How the floor receives the bottoms of shoes
Or toes. How soles of feet know
Where they’re supposed to be.
I’ve been thinking about the patienceOf ordinary things, how clothes
Wait respectfully in closets
And soap dries quietly in the dish,
And towels drink the wet
From the skin of the back.
And the lovely repetition of stairs.
And what is more generous than a window?

Recently, I considered closing Project Give Thanks.  It was breaking my heart but cards were not magically appearing and all of the card fronts had been made up and given out.   Evidentially I was not being patient enough!  Last week my mailbox had packages of cards and card fronts in it every day!  Woo Hoo!!!

Here’s who saved Project Give Thanks this time:

Jeannie Kenney of Freeport, IL (plus $10 for envelopes, wow!  thanks!) (a Stampin Up demonstrator)

Kellie Cook of Champaign, IL (who has a Yorkshire Terrier living in her purse 😉

Michelle Zindorf of West Alexanderia, OH (aka “my Sista”)

Valory Johnson of Zeeland, MI (who repeatedly gives thanks)

Heather Lewis of Apo, AE  (I’ll use Heather’s many “Save the Hooters” cards to send to women I meet who confess to not having a monogram lately or EVER!  Yes, let’s do save some hooters!)

and…

Jo Spicer of Kansas City, MO emailed to say a package is on it’s way!

Did I already say WooHoo?  Ladies, Project Give Thanks lives!!!  I thank you.  Rocky Mountain Cancer Center thanks you.  And, of course the brave folks fighting cancer Thank You!!!

Check’em out…

I’d fix these wacky photos but I have got to run to get Bodhi!

Hugs All!, Sonja

2 Responses to “Give Thanks for patience.”

  1. Michelle March 13, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Don’t you dare give up! Hugs!

  2. Cindi Flass March 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    Don’t give up! My mother and I started giving cards to our local cancer center as well as a support group because of you. There are just 2 of us making cards, so you are already doing better than us. I have a link to your blog from mine and try to get the word out for people to send you cards. I’ll emphasize it more. Hang in there..we sometimes feel like giving up to, but then we think about why we are doing it and get a second wind 🙂

Leave a Reply

