Give Thanks for being who you are…

19 Jan

Give thanks for being who you are…

dom120110

I recently read “The Happiness Project…” by Gretchen Rubin.  I highly recommend it because it’s the most down to earth, user friendly “happiness book” I’ve read.  The author made up twelve commandments and the first is “Be Gretchen.”  That is, be who we are not who we think we should be or who we would like to be or who others expect us to be.   Of course, this isn’t new advice.  But, when one is learning how to understand and develop happiness, considering who you are is essential.

I bet we all resolved to make ourself better this new year.  I’ve vowed to get a job; which scares me.  But, when looking for one I won’t compare my options to the jobs my successful friends have.  No, I’ll consider my personality, abilities, principles and desires.  I’ll shoot for something that makes ME happy.   Like being a school bus driver.

Also, I’ve vowed to loose 13 pounds.  But this year it’ll be different for me. I won’t get discouraged!   As I visualize the “new me” I’ll actually visualize a thinner ME , with all my wrinkles, bumps & bulges.  And, I won’t visualize my perfect hard-body, world traveling, friend Deb. (I love you Deb!)   I’ll think “Sonja”; the best “Sonja” I can be.

Hugs to the real, wonderful You,

Sonja

3 Responses to “Give Thanks for being who you are…”

  1. Michelle Zindorf January 20, 2013 at 2:57 am #

    Amen Sister!

  2. Ribbet January 20, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    You are by far the best Sonja I have ever met, or ever hope to meet!

    • Project Give Thanks January 20, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Thank you Darlin’ ! Love all of your pictures. Did these with shadows on the snow turn out? Thanks for taking the pictures. Good night.

Leave a Reply

