A Touching Story for You

26 Sep

Here is a message from one of the nurses at RRMC…

I was quietly delivering cards on Monday morning when one of the nurses touched my arm and said I have to tell you something.  My immediate response was “I’m in trouble now.”  Nope, she said, in a very serious and sensitive voice, “We have had several people become very upset while being set up with their treatments.  After unsuccessfully trying to calm them we offered the basket of cards for them to look at and told them the Project Give Thanks story.  They really were distracted by the beautiful cards and couldn’t believe that people made them.  We all (the nursing staff) appreciate having this extra tool to help relax our patients.  Thank you and thank everyone who sends cards.”  WOW!  That was a conversation I’ll always remember.  It sent chills up my spine and renewed my devotion.

YOU and your generosity made this happen!  Thank you all!  

There’s more so you’ll be hearing from me soon.  Sorry it’s been so long; busy times.

Many calming hugs, Sonja

Chemo set up - a bit intimidating for the new patient

Chemo set up – a bit intimidating for the new patient

***************************************************************************************

Have cards or card fronts to give?  Please send them on.  We have officially run out.  Supplying cards for two communities obviously takes twice as many cards so please send them on.  Thank you so much.

***************************************************************************************

Hey Boulder County Neighbors,

Are you busy this Sunday at around 11 a.m.?  I didn’t think so… Join me and others at the Scrapbook Shack in Louisville (next to Carrabbas).  We’ll be making greeting cards for the good folks fighting cancer at the Rocky Mountain Cancer Center and Exempla Comprehensive Cancer Center.  Patients use these cards to stay in touch with family and to thank those generous people who are helping them get through a tough time.  Yes, Project Give Thanks needs your help making cards.  No experience necessary!  All material supplied.  Send me a message if you need more details.

Hugs, Sonja

7 Responses to “A Touching Story for You”

  1. Terri Sandoval September 26, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

    There is a big box headed your way from Wilmington, OH. Post office said probably Monday delivery. It’s nice to know that they are needed and appreciated. Thank you!

    • Sonja Knaisch September 26, 2014 at 6:13 pm #

      Oh my gosh! This is such great news. Thank you Terri! Yes, your little gems are definitely needed and appreciated. And, so are You!
      Hugs, Sonja

    • Sonja Knaisch September 30, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

      Hi Terri, I received your HUGE box of cards. Thank you , thank you, thank you!!! I’ll post a blog about it and you soon. Would you like to send me a photo to include? How did you and I connect?
      Many autumn hugs falling on you,
      Sonja

  2. laurel stimler September 27, 2014 at 4:05 am #

    Sonja,

    Did I read right that you have run out of cards?

    I will start working on getting some ready to send to you right away. I have a bunch of them that I can send.

    Laurel Stimler Sharpsburg, GA

    Date: Fri, 26 Sep 2014 23:40:14 +0000 To: ljstimler@hotmail.com

    • Lee Mae September 27, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

      I have some cards made for you and I will work on getting more done. I was worried you had too many! Thanks for letting us know.

      • Sonja Knaisch September 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm #

        Lee Mae, Hello!

        Thank your for telling me about your cards. The number of cards received and the number of patients using them fluctuates at different times. I have a lot of storage space for cards so I’ll never have too many. Thank you for your generosity and support! I try to tell about the cards, and the people who made them, on my blogs. Is this okay with you? Would you like to send me a photo or story about why you support PGT? It’s not necessary, I’d just like to get to know you and the other wonderful people who contribute to Project Give Thanks.

        Many hugs to you and your loved ones,
        Sonja

    • Sonja Knaisch September 30, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

      Hi Laurel! Great to hear from you. Yes, I was temporarily completely out of cards. The number of cards received and the number of patients using them fluctuates at different times. I have a lot of storage space for cards so I’ll never have too many. Also, I keep cards sorted by holiday so right now I’m putting out fall & halloween and very soon Thanksgiving. Good heavens, here we go again, right?

      Thank you Laurel for your contented support and generosity! Would you like to send me a photo of you, or where you live, or of the person who motivates you (and the Sweet Georgia Stampers) to donate to cancer patients so regularly?

      Many hugs to you and our stampin friends.
      Sonja

Leave a Reply

